The much-awaited Indian Premier League auction has kicked off in Jaipur with left-arm paceman Jaydev Unadkat being snapped up by Rajasthan Royals for a whopping Rs 8.4 crore. It was almost six times his base price of Rs 1.5 crore.

Earlier, all-rounder Axar Patel was bagged by Delhi Capitals for Rs 5 crore, which was five times his base price. West Indian batsman Carlos Brathwaite was also bagged for Rs 5 crore by Kolkata Knight Riders.

Yuvraj Singh, however, remained unsold after a poor showing in the tournament last year for Kings XI Punjab.

Mohammed Shami was picked up by Kings XI Punjab for Rs 4.8 crore while fellow India fast bowler Ishant Sharma was bagged by his hometown franchise Delhi Capitals for Rs 1.1 crore.

Two other former India quicks were also in demand, with Mohit Sharma being picked up by his former team Chennai Super Kings for a cool Rs 5 crore, while Varun Aaron went to Rajasthan Royals for Rs 2.4 crore. Aaron had gone unsold last season. 

Another West Indian Nicolas Pooran also went for Rs 4.2 crore to Kings XI Punjab, while England wicketkeeper Jonny Bairstow was picked up for Rs 2.2 crore by Sunrisers Hyderabad. Former Indian wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha was also bagged by Sunrisers for Rs 1.2 crore.

Lasith Malinga, who is the highest wicket-taker in IPL history with 154 wickets, was bagged by his former team Mumbai Indians for Rs 2 crore. Last season, Malinga was the bowling mentor of Mumbai Indians but will return as a player this time.

Earlier, Delhi Capitals snapped up India all-rounder Hanuma Vihari for Rs 2 crore. Vihari's base price was Rs 50 lakh but intense bidding by Delhi Capitals, Rajasthan Royals and Mumbai Indians pushed up his value four-fold.  

The 25-year-old Vihari made his Test debut for India earlier this year against England at the Oval. He had previously played in the IPL for Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Indian batsman Cheteshwar Pujara and New Zealanders Brendon McCullum and Martin Guptill also went unsold. 
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

Which political party will win the Huzurabad bypoll election?