Mahendra Singh Dhoni was back with Chennai Super Kings while Royal Challengers Bengaluru retained India captain Virat Kohli during the Indian Premier League retentions in Mumbai. 

Mumbai Indians had the league's most successful captain Rohit Sharma back in their stable as most of the retentions happened on expected lines. 

Current Australia skipper Steve Smith was Rajasthan Royals' only pick while his deputy David Warner remains with Sunrisers Hyderabad along with pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

One of the notable names not to be retained is long-time Kolkata Knight Riders skipper Gautam Gambhir, who is now back in the auction pool. 

West Indians Sunil Narine and Andre Russell are the two picks by Kolkata Knight Riders. 

Kings XI Punjab had left-arm spinner Axar Patel in their ranks while South African Chris Morris, young guns Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer are back with Delhi Daredevils.

The franchises that has gone for full three retentions are Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians, Delhi Daredevils and RCB. CSK have retained their powerhouse performers Ravindra Jadeja and Suresh Raina as their second and third choices. 

AB de Villiers is RCB's second retention while they have kept uncapped Sarfaraz Khan while putting Chris Gayle back in the auction pool.The purse that one spends for retention of three capped players is Rs 15 crore for Player 1, Rs 11 crore for Player 2 and Rs 7 crore for Player 3 while for two retentions- it's Rs 12.5 crore for Player 1 and Rs 8.5 crore for player 2.

However for Virat Kohli, the retention was Rs 17 crore, which incidentally is his league fee. A single player retention had a deduction of Rs 12.5 crore.

Retentions :-

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah. Purse Remaining: Rs 47 crore

Delhi Daredevils: Chris Morris, Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer. Purse Remaining: Rs 47 crore

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Sarafaraz Khan. Purse Remaining: Rs 49 crore

Chennai Super KIngs: MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja. Purse Remaining: Rs 47 crore

Rajasthan Royals: Steven Smith. Purse Remaining: Rs 67.5 core

Kings XI Punjab: Axar Patel. Purse Remaining: Rs 67.5 crore.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Sunil Narine and Andre Russell. Purse Remaining: Rs 67.5 crore

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner, Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Purse Remaining: Rs 67.5 crore.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

Which cricket team will win the final of the World Test Championship (WTC) to be played at Southampton, England from June 18?

New Zealand
Can't Say