India today scripted a resounding 246-run win over England in the second cricket Test to take a 1-0 lead in the five-match series riding on a superlative effort from the spin troika, here.
Chasing an improbable 405, England were bowled out for paltry 158 shortly after the lunch break to give the hosts their second biggest victory in terms of runs against the visitors.
Having defended doggedly on the fourth evening, the visitors caved in without much resistance losing eight wickets for an addition of 71 runs with Ravichandran Ashwin (3/52) and debutant Jayant Yadav (3/30) being the wreckers-in-chief at the Dr YSR Reddy ACA-VDCA Stadium which hosted its first ever Test match.
Having showed some tenacity yesterday to bat out 59.2 overs with 87/2, England were blown away this morning and lost five wickets in 33.4 overs in the first session before India bowled them out for 158.
It took India 24 balls and 22 minutes passed lunch to cruise victory and take a 1-0 lead with more than a session to spare.While skipper Virat Kohli's aggregate of 248 runs (167 and 81) laid the cornerstone of victory, the contribution of India's premier all-rounder Ashwin (52 runs and match figures of 8/119) was equally significant.
Ashwin now has 231 wickets from 41 Tests apart from 1670 runs that includes 4 tons and 7 half-centuries. Ashwin also became leading wicket-taker of 2016 with 55 wickets surpassing Sri Lankan Rangana Herath (54 scalps).Not to forget young Jayant, who bowled a ripper to get Ben Stokes and played a couple of gritty knocks down the order. He first trapped Stuart Broad (5) LBW, and then dismissed James Anderson for a golden duck in similar manner as England went for reviews but in vain.
Mohammed Shami (2/30) was menacing when the ball reversed and Ravindra Jadeja did his bit in the second innings providing important breakthroughs. When the final wicket fell, the celebrations were muted as Kohli just picked

up a souvenir stump and shook hands with rival players.
It was a study contrast as the top three batsmen of Alastair Cook (54), Haseeb Hameed (25) and Joe Root (25) consumed 439 balls -- 73.1 overs -- but the rest have fallen in a heap what can be termed as a meek surrender.
Earlier, Root had some lucky escape with Virat Kohli dropping the English No 3 on nine at leg slip and a decision was also overturned.Finally, the first opening came after 15 minutes into the day with Ashwin removing a tense-looking Duckett, who perished trying to play the sweep.
There was extra bounce but Duckett's shot selection did him in as the ball hit his gloves and hit the pad before looping into Wriddhiman Saha's gloves.In a tense and tight situation, Root was adjudged caught behind by Rod Tucker but England successfully used the DRS as the decision was overturned after review.
Root, who was floored by Virat Kohli at leg slip on 9, again survived on with an addition of two runs as the snicko registered a faint mark and the third umpire was not convinced to dismiss Tucker's call.
Persisting with a tidy line and aiming the roughs, left-arm spinner Jadeja got his first wicket this morning dismissing Ali as his forward defensive prod saw him get an inside edge which was taken by Kohli at backward short leg.
The ball seemed to have bounced more than normal after hitting the edge of a widening crack.Maintaining a fine over rate, Indian spinners ran through the opening hour bowling 20.4 overs and were quick to get the second new ball in 80 overs and get their exhausted reviews quota renewed.
Having made an impressive debut, Jayant Yadav struck with the new ball as he bowled a beauty to clean up Ben Stokes (6).The delivery had a nice drift as it pitched on the middle stump with Stokes going for a backfoot defence. It spun enough to clip the off-bail in what was a tweaker's delight.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh
etemaad live tv watch now

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which Women's cricket team will win the Asia Cup 2024?

Sri Lanka