Germany announced their initial squad for the Euro 2024 with former footballer Toni Kroos making his famous return to an international event. Borussia Dortmund's ace centre-back Mat Hummels and Bayern Munich's Leon Goretzka miss out on Julian Naglesmann's 27-member squad for the home tournament.

Germany are set to host the 2024 Euro starting on June 14 and have named a strong squad for the tournament. However, the hosts need to drop one name from their team due to the 26-player rule by the UEFA. The squad consists of four goalkeepers including Oliver Baumann and Alexander Nubel.

Head coach Naglesmann welcomed Toni Kroos' return to international football and hinted at a starting lineup spot for the veteran central midfielder. Kroos had famously announced a shock retirement from international football after Germany's early exit from the Euro 2020 but made himself available for the upcoming edition in February this year.

“It will make the training a bit harder because they're (Toni Kroos and Antonio Rudiger) players that are envisaged for the starting lineup, players that are important for the team," Naglesmann said in a

press conference in Berlin. "I'd prefer if players are successful and play great games and come with a lot of confidence. I already have the idea that we can win this thing, that we can gain faith in winning it."

Germany squad for Euro 2024
Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Alexander Nubel (Stuttgart), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona), Oliver Baumann (Hoffenheim).

Defenders: Waldemar Anton (Stuttgart), Benjamin Henrichs (Leipzig), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Robin Koch (Eintracht Frankfurt), Maximilian Mittelstadt (Stuttgart), David Raum (Leipzig), Antonio Rudiger (Real Madrid), Nico Schlotterbeck (Borussia Dortmund), Jonathan Tah (Bayer Leverkusen).

Midfielders: Robert Andrich (Bayer Leverkusen), Chris Fuhrich (Stuttgart), Pascal Grob (Brighton), Ilkay Gundogan (Barcelona), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich), Aleksandar Pavlovic (Bayern Munich), Leroy Sane (Bayern Munich), Florian Wirtz (Bayer Leverkusen).

Forwards: Maximilian Beier (Hoffenheim), Niclas Fullkrug (Borussia Dortmund), Kai Havertz (Arsenal), Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich), Deniz Undav (Stuttgart).
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh
etemaad live tv watch now

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which Men's cricket team will win the T20 World Cup 2024?

New Zealand