England manager Gareth Southgate announced a preliminary 35-member squad for Euro 2024 on Tuesday, May 21. The former captain Jordan Henderson and Manchester United's star forward Marcus Rashford missed out on the team that shockingly features five uncapped players.

The Three Lions, the runner-ups at the 2020 edition, will be led by captain Harry Kane in the mega tournament in Germany starting on June 15. Even without Henderson and Rashford, England's squad looks strong to mount a title bid at Euro 2024.

Southgate's squad clearly reflects attacking talents with five uncapped players Curtis Jones, Jarell Quansah (both from Liverpool), Jarrad Branthwaite, Adam Wharton and goalkeeper James Trafford being part of a balanced team.

Southgate pointed out a poor season for Rashford and a fitness issue for Henderson to their snub for Euro 2024. Henderson, with 81 appearances for England, was a regular starter for Southgate's teams in Euro 2020 and FIFA World Cup 2022. 

"With Marcus, I just feel other players in that area of the pitch have had better seasons, it's as

simple as that," Gareth Southgate said in the press conference. "Henderson has given himself every chance. The determining factor has been the injury he picked up around the last camp. He missed five weeks and just hasn't been able to get to the intensity in the games since then."

Meanwhile, there was no place for left-back Luke Shar who has struggled with injuries throughout the 2023-24 season and is unlikely to return to the national side in the near future. 

England's provisional squad for Euro 2024:
Goalkeepers: James Trafford, Dean Henderson, Aaron Ramsdale, Jordan Pickford.

Defenders: Jarrad Branthwaite, Jarell Quansah, Luke Shaw, Marc Guehi, Ezri Konsa, Lewis Dunk, Joe Gomez, Kyle Walker, Harry Maguire, John Stones, Kieran Trippier.

Midfielders: Adam Wharton, Kobbie Mainoo, Curtis Jones, Conor Gallagher, Declan Rice, Trent Alexander-Arnold.

Forwards: Ivan Toney, Ollie Watkins, Anthony Gordon, Harry Kane, Phil Foden, Cole Palmer, Jude Bellingham, Bukayo Saka, James Maddison, Jarrod Bowen, Eberechi Eze, Jack Grealish.
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh
etemaad live tv watch now

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which Men's cricket team will win the T20 World Cup 2024?

New Zealand