Maharashtra emerged as winners as they lifted the famous Raja Bhalindra Singh Trophy after a historic triumph at the 37th National Games on Thursday, November 9. With 228 medals, and a new national record, Maharashtra held on to their lead at the top of the medals tally on the last day of the tournament in Goa.

Maharashtra also broke Services' winning streak of four consecutive titles by topping the table after 29 years. Maharashtra famously won the National Games in 1985 and 1994 and finished the last edition second despite claiming the highest 140 medals. Services dominated the tournament by winning the previous four editions and finished in second place this year with some stellar performances.

Kerala's ace swimmer Srihari Nataraj bagged the award for best male athlete of this edition with 10

medals, including sensational eight golds. Maharashtra's star athlete Sanyukta Prasen Kale and Pranati Nayak of Odisha were adjudged as the best female athletes (both 5 medals).

Maharashtra bagged five more Gold medals on Day 16 to take the tally to 80 and extended their lead over the defending champions Services Sports Control Board and Haryana. Services managed to win only three medals today and finished 102 medals behind Maharashtra. Haryana claimed the the last place on the podium with 62 Gold medals and overall 192 medals.

Tournament hosts Goa impressed by finishing in the top ten for the first time in National Games history. They finished in the ninth position with 92 medals, including 27 Golds, just two behind Delhi. Kerala made a big jump on the last day by winning 12 medals and securing fifth place.
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh
etemaad live tv watch now

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Should the NTA be replaced with a new testing body?

Can't say