Shreyas Iyer, India's white-ball specialist, slammed unbeaten 103 runs to help Mumbai beat Maharashtra by six wickets in their Elite Group D game of the Vijay Hazare Trophy, on Tuesday. This was Mumbai's second successive win after they had beaten Delhi in the lung-opener.

Opting to bat first, Maharashtra posted 279/9, with centuries from Yash Nahar (119) and Azim Kazi (104) despite experienced Mumbai pacer Dhawal Kulkarni (5/44) running through their top-order. But it was Iyer, who anchored the Mumbai chase and saw them home in 47.2 overs.

Nitish Rana and Dhruv Shorey scored brilliant centuries to lay the foundation for Delhi's 179-run win over Puducherry, their first victory of the tournament. The duo-stitched a 255-run partnership for the third wicket, helping Delhi to 354 for 4, before bundling out their opponents for 175, courtesy Kulwant Khejroliya's four-wicket haul.

Opener Jay Bista starred with a 61-ball 71 as Uttarakhand outplayed Manipur by seven wickets for their second consecutive win in the Vijay Hazare Trophy Plate Group on Tuesday. Sent in to bat, Manipur lost the openers Narisingh Yadav (2) and Al Bashid Muhammed (4) by the sixth over and the rest of the batsmen struggled against a disciplined bowling attack.

Assam also notched up their second win, beating Arunachal Pradesh by five wickets to join Uttarakhand at the top of the standings with eight points. In another match, Mizoram went down by 29 runs to Nagaland despite tons by Pratik Desai (141) and Taruwar Kohli (108).

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

Which cricket team will win the final of the World Test Championship (WTC) to be played at Southampton, England from June 18?

New Zealand
Can't Say