South Africa named an extended 21-man squad for their first return to Pakistan in 14 years for two-Test match series later this month. South Africa have included uncapped seamers Daryn Dupavillon and Ottniel Baartman in their squad.

South Africa will play Tests in Karachi and Rawalpindi, starting on Jan. 26 and also welcome back fast bowler Kagiso Rabada and all-rounder Dwaine Pretorius, as well as spinners Tabraiz Shamsi and George Linde.

Quinton De Kock, who began his Test captaincy stint with the home series against Sri Lanka, will continue the role. Aiden Markram and Dean Elgar both of who blossomed against Sri Lanka while opening the innings have also retained the spots.

"Considering that the conditions that will be faced are largely unknown to the South African team, we wanted to strengthen the attack with the skill sets that Tabraiz Shamsi and George Linde have to offer while giving players like Daryn Dupavillon and Ottniel Baartman an opportunity after making strong cases for themselves in recent seasons," convener of selectors Victor Mpitsang said in a media release from Cricket South Africa on Friday.

South Africa will leave for Pakistan on a commercial flight will quarantine in Karachi before resuming training and staging intra-squad games to prepare for the series, which starts on January 26.

The 21 man Test squad of South Africa looks like Quinton De Kock (c), Temba Bavuma, Aiden Markram, Faf Du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Kagiso Rabada, Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Rassie Van der Dussen, Anrich Nortje, Wiaan Mulder, Lutho Sipamla, Hendricks, Kyle Verreynne, Sarel Erwee, Alviro Petersen, Tabraiz Shamsi, George Linde, Daryn Dupavillon, Sarah Baartman.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh
learn quran online easily

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

Which political party will win the MLC elections in Telangana?