India A, on Thursday, September 21, defeated New Zealand A by seven wickets in the first of the three One Dayers at MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

After winning the toss and opting to bowl first, India A never allowed their opponents to run away with the match. Being reduced to 74 for eight, the visitors found themselves in all sorts of trouble.

Shardul Thakur was the pick of the bowlers for India A after he picked up four wickets for 32 runs. Kuldeep Sen, who impressed while playing for Rajasthan Royals (RR) in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022, accounted for three crucial scalps.

Michael Rippon and Joe Walker staged some sort of a comeback for New Zealand A. The duo put on 89 runs for the ninth wicket off 124 balls. However, their stand came to an end after Rajat Patidar’s throw caught Walker short of the


Walker hit three fours and one six on his way to a 49-ball 36. Rippon was the standout batter for New Zealand A after he scored 61 runs off 104 balls with four fours.

Chasing 168 wasn’t expected to pose much threat to the India A batters. Prithvi Shaw looked promising in his 17-run knock before Matthew Fisher sent him back.

Shaw’s opening partner, Ruturaj Gaikwad, looked in decent touch after he scored 41 runs off 54 balls with three fours and two sixes.

Rahul Tripathi also looked in good touch before Van Beek dismissed him for 31. Sanju Samson and Rajat Patidar put on an unbeaten 69-run stand to take India A past the finishing line.

Patidar was the most fluent among the India A batters as he scored 45 off 41 with seven fours. Samson, who didn’t find a place in India’s T20 World Cup squad, stayed unbeaten on 29 off 32.
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh
etemaad live tv watch now

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which Men's cricket team will win the T20 World Cup 2024?

New Zealand