Pakistan wicketkeeper Mohammad Rizwan, as expected, won the ICC Men's T20I Cricketer of the Year Award for 2021 after a dream run in the shortest format of the game last year. Rizwan has won the inaugural award in the said category, beating the likes of Mitchell Marsh, Jos Buttler and Wanidu Hasaranga.

The Pakistan wicketkeeper-batter ruled the roost in 2021 when it came to the shortest format of the game. Aggregating a staggering 1326 runs in only 29 matches, Rizwan struck at an average of 73.66 and a strike-rate of 134.89. Apart from his exploits with the bat, he was as solid as ever behind the stumps, playing a key role in Pakistan's run to the semis during the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021, where he ended up as the third-highest run-scorer.

He also scored the maiden T20I century of his career against South Africa in Lahore early in the year and ended it continuing his form with a brilliant knock of 87 against West Indies in Karachi. With another T20 World Cup coming up next year, Pakistan will hope that Rizwan continues in the same vein.

One of the most memorable performances from Rizwan came during the T20 World Cup 2021 opener against India wherein he and Babar Azam stitched a 152-run unbeaten stand to help Pakistan register their first-ever World Cup victory over their arch-rivals. Rizwan smacked 79 not out in only 55 deliveries, hitting six fours and three sixes. The ease with which he countered the Indian bowling attack was a thing of sheer beauty.
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which cricket team will win the IPL 2022?

Gujarat Titans
Lucknow Super Giants
Rajasthan Royals