Mumbai Indians registered an easy win against Lucknow Super Giants in the eliminator played on Wednesday. In the match played at MA Chidambaram stadium, Chennai, Mumbai beat Lucknow by 81 runs. Coming to bat first after winning the toss, MI registered a score of 182/8 (20 overs). In response, LSG were bundled out for just 101 runs.

If the first innings belonged to Naveen-ul-Haq, whose 4/37 made everyone feel wary about MI's final score, Akash Madhwal finished it for Lucknow Super Giants with brilliant figures of 5/5 in 3.3 overs spell.

MI batters lost early wickets as both their openers Rohit Sharma 11 (10) and Ishan Kishan 15 (12) got dismissed before the Powerplay. However, Suryakumar Yadav 33 (20), and Cameron Green 41 (23) stabilized the innings. Naveen took four crucial wickets of Rohit, Surya, Green, and Tilak Varma 26 (22). Wickets kept falling for MI batters on regular intervals but runs kept adding to the board too. Tim David 13 (13), Nehal Wadhera 23 (12), and Chris Jordan 4 (7) added their share of runs towards the end.

While Naveen picked 4 wickets, Yash Thakur scalped 3 wickets and Mohsin Khan registered 1 dismissal for LSG.

When it comes to Lucknow's chase, LSG batters struggled to add runs on the board since the beginning of their innings. Prerak Mankad 3 (6), and Kyle Mayers 18 (13) were dismissed early within 4 overs. For Lucknow, only Marcus Stoinis 40 (27) scored

more than 20 runs. The batting order collapsed with three unfortunate run-outs taking place and Madhwal picking a 5-wicket haul. Krunal Pandya 8 (11), Ayush Badoni 1 (7), Nicholas Pooran 0 (1), Deepak Hooda 15 (13), Krishnappa Gowtham 2 (3), Ravi Bishnoi 3 (6), Naveen 1 (5) contributed their share of runs.

While Akash took 5 wickets, Piyush Chawla and Chris Jordan picked 1 wicket each for the team.


With the win, Mumbai Indians have qualified for the Qualifier 2 to be played against Gujarat Titans at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on May 26, Friday. The winner of which will then be qualified for the final match to be played on May 28 against Chennai Super Kings. CSK defeated GT by 15 runs on Tuesday to seal the berth in the summit clash. 

Lucknow Super Giants Playing XI: Ayush Badoni, Deepak Hooda, Prerak Mankad, Marcus Stoinis, Nicholas Pooran(w), Krunal Pandya(c), Krishnappa Gowtham, Ravi Bishnoi, Naveen-ul-Haq, Yash Thakur, Mohsin Khan

LSG Substitutes: Kyle Mayers, Daniel Sams, Yudhvir Singh, Swapnil Singh, Amit Mishra.
Mumbai Indians Playing XI: Rohit Sharma(c), Ishan Kishan(w), Cameron Green, Suryakumar Yadav, Tim David, Nehal Wadhera, Chris Jordan, Hrithik Shokeen, Piyush Chawla, Jason Behrendorff, Akash Madhwal

MI Substitutes: Nehal Wadhera, Ramandeep Singh, Vishnu Vinod, Kumar Kartikeya, Sandeep Warrier
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Do you think holding Lok Sabha and assembly elections simultaneously is a good idea?

Can't Say