Mumbai Indians registered their maiden win of the IPL 2024 with a dominant 29-run triumph over Delhi Capitals on Sunday. Rohit Sharma and Romario Shepherd shone with bat to help Mumbai post a 234 total at Wankhede Stadium and then impressive bowling restricted Delhi to 205 in another run-fest.

After three heavy defeats, Hardik Pandya finally managed to clinch the first points as Mumbai captain. Suryakumar Yadav returned from his long-term injury while Romario Shepherd replaced Kwena Maphaka in Mumbai's playing eleven.

After being forced to bat first, Mumbai Indians enjoyed a sensational start with Rohit and Ishan Kishan adding 80 runs for the first wicket in seven overs. Rohit top-scored with 49 runs off 27 balls to put Mumbai on track for a big total.

Delhi managed to make a comeback with Axar Patel removing both settled openers. Anrich Nortje stunned the home crowd by removing returning Suryakumar on a duck and Khaleel Ahmed dismissed Tilak Varma on just six runs to balance the game.

But Mumbai managed to dominate the game with Tim David and Hardik Pandya adding crucial 60 runs for the fifth wicket. Pandya scored 39 runs but struggled for the big shots throughout his innings.

Romario Shepherd then boosted Mumbai to a huge total by smashing Nortje for 32 runs in the last over. Romario scored 39* off just 10 balls and Tim contributed with unbeaten 45 runs off 21 balls. Axar and Nortje took

two wickets for Delhi with the latter conceding 65 runs in his four overs.

Chasing another mammoth target, Delhi lost the in-form opener David Warner in the fourth over. But Delhi made a stunning comeback with Prithvi Shaw and Abishek Porel adding 88 runs for the second wicket. Shaw displayed his potential again by smashing 66 off 40 balls to register his first fifty of the 2024 season.

Jasprit Bumrah, who failed to get any wickets in the last two games, bowled out Shaw in the 12th over but Delhi kept the game balanced with Tristan Stubbs playing another impressive knock. The South African youngster top-scored with 71* off just 25 balls with the help of three fours and seven sixes. 

Mumbai managed to change the momentum in the last five overs with timely wickets of Rishabh Pant and Axar Patel. Gerald Coetzee took three wickets in the last over when Delhi needed 34 runs to win the game. Shepherd bagged the Player of the Match award for his explosive knock and a big wicket of David Warner.

Mumbai Indians Playing XI: Rohit Sharma, Ishan Kishan (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Hardik Pandya (c), Tim David, Mohammad Nabi, Romario Shepherd, Piyush Chawla, Gerald Coetzee, Jasprit Bumrah.

Delhi Capitals Playing XI: David Warner, Prithvi Shaw, Abishek Porel, Rishabh Pant  (c & wk), Tristan Stubbs, Axar Patel, Lalit Yadav, Jhye Richardson, Anrich Nortje, Ishant Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed.
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh
etemaad live tv watch now

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Should the NTA be replaced with a new testing body?

Can't say