KL Rahul and Lucknow paid the price for being timid with the bat as their IPL 2024 play-offs went up in smoke after one of their most crushing defeats. Lack of bravery hurt them against SunRisers, who were at their ruthless best with the bat and disciplined best with the ball at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium in Hyderabad on Wednesday, May 8.

Travis Head hit a 16-ball fifty and Abhishek Sharma hit a 19-ball fifty as SunRisers made a mockery of their 166-run chase. The former champions went past the finish line in just 9.4 overs, handing Lucknow one of the biggest defeats in IPL history.

167 in 9.4 overs is also the highest-ever total scored in the first 10 overs of an IPL match as SunRisers shattered records at will. SunRisers winning with 62 balls is also a new IPL record for the most deliveries remaining while chasing a 100-plus total.

It was a perfect birthday gift for captain Pat Cummins as the Hyderabad-based team stormed back into the top 3 in the IPL 2024 points table. SunRisers' Net Run Rate also got a major boost as they tore into the Lucknow bowlers, who were clueless against one of the most

incredible power-hitting shows from Head and Abhishek.Travis Head remained unbeaten on 89 off 30 balls while Abhishek Sharma made 75 off 28 balls as SunRisers hammered the Super Giants by 10 wickets. KL Rahul, who played a criminally slow knock of 29 from 33 balls, looked clueless as Head and Abhishek hit 13 sixes and 16 boundaries. Even the SunRisers stars in the dugout watched the incredible assault with awe as the two openers flaunted their big-hitting ability.

SunRisers scored 107 for 0 in their powerplay while Lucknow managed 27 for 2 in their powerplay and the contrast in approach proved to be the difference between the two teams.

Only 4 times have 100-plus scores been posted in the powerplay and SunRisers have accounted for two of them. Previously, SunRisers broke the all-time IPL record for the most runs in the powerplay -- 125 against Delhi at the Arun Jaitley Stadium last month. Krishnappa Gowtham, who conceded 29 runs from 2 overs, was LSG's most economical bowler. Ayush Badoni, Yash Thakur, Naveen-ul-Haq and Ravi Bishnoi all conceded more than 17 runs per over as LSG bowlers had a forgettable day in Hyderabad.
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh
etemaad live tv watch now

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Should the NTA be replaced with a new testing body?

Can't say