Delhi Capitals survived a massive scare from Arshad Khan to beat Lucknow Super Giants by 19 runs in match 64 of the Indian Premier League 2024. The Capitals keep their slim hopes of qualifying in the playoffs alive and LSG are almost out with a pretty negative NRR.

Delhi ended their league stage campaign in IPL 2024 doing all that they can to keep their faint playoffs hopes alive. The Rishabh Pant-led side hammered Lucknow at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi on Tuesday, May 14 to finish the season with 14 points in as many games. Delhi rode on Abhishek Porel and Tristan Stubbs's fiery fifties to post a competitive total of 208 -- the fifth occasion of the team scoring over 200 in the season. Old warhorse Ishant Sharma then stepped up with the ball, much to the delight of the local crowd, as LSG were restricted to 189 for 9 in 20 overs.

Delhi retained

their place at the 6th spot in the 10-team IPL 2024 points table. They became the first team to play all their 14 matches in the league stage. LSG, on the other hand, are still in the playoffs race, but with only a mathematical chance. LSG are at the 7th spot with 12 points from 13 matches. Their Net Run Rate (-0.xxx) dipped further in Delhi. KL Rahul's men, who take on MI at the Wankhede on May 17, need a few miracles to sneak through to the top 4.

LSG's top-order was blown away by local hero Ishant Sharma as captain KL Rahul, Marcus Stoinis and Quinton de Kock fell inside the powerplay. LSG were reduced to 44 for 4 in the 5th over, but Nicholas Pooran went on a counter-attacking spree, smashing four sixes and 6 boundaries. However, Pooran fell in the 12th over, leaving LSG reeling at 101 for 6. Just when it looked like all hopes were lost, LSG found an unlikely batting hero.
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which cricket team will win the IPL 2024?

Rajasthan Royals
Kolkata Knight Riders
Lucknow Super Giants