Mumbai Indians batter Suryakumar Yadav hit his maiden IPL century against defending champions Gujarat Titans. Suryakumar scored an unbeaten 103 to register his highest score in the Indian Premier League.

Suryakumar’s red hot form continued as he smashed 103 runs off 49 balls, hitting 11 fours and 6 maximums to help MI post 218 for 5 in the first innings.

MI captain Rohit Sharma and left-handed opener Ishan Kishan got Mumbai to a flying start, scoring 61 runs in the powerplay. However, GT spinner Rashid Khan turned the game on its head by dismissing both Rohit and Kishan in the same over to leave MI stranded at 66 for 2.

However, the two quick wickets did not slow the hosts down with Nehal Wadhera and Suryakumar keeping the scoring-rate high. Wadhera got off to a good start but was dimissed by Rashid after scoring 15 runs off seven


Suryakumar kept scoring at a positive rate before upping the ante towards the latter end of his knock. He took on West Indian pacer Alzarri Joseph, who started his IPL journey with MI way back in 2019. The MI batter smashed Joseph for a six and four in the 15th over, before hitting Rashid for a four between deep backward square leg and deep midwicket to bring up his half-century.

The world number one T20I batter smashed Mohit Sharma around the park in the 18th over, hitting him for three boundaries and a six. He continued the onslaught against the in-form Shami, smashing him for a six and a couple of boundaries to help MI cross the 200-run mark in the penultimate over.

While, Suryakumar has hit three T20I centuries, this was his first one in the IPL. The 32-year-old brought up his hundred by smashing Joseph for an incredible six in the final ball of the innings.
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which political party will form the government in Telangana state on December 9?

Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS)
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)