Mumbai Indians defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore by 6 wickets at the Wankhede Stadium on Tuesday to storm to No.3 from No.8 in the IPL 2023 points table. Suryakumar Yadav, Nehal Wadhera and Ishan Kishan played crucial roles as MI, 5-time IPL champions, secured their sixth win of the season.

MI had finished last in the points table in 2022 but this season, things have started to fall in place for them. On May 3, they had chased down 215 against Punjab Kings thanks to fireworks from Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav. Six days later, these two played starring roles again in an emphatic chase.

Suryakumar Yadav was eventually dismissed for 83 off 35 balls, his highest score in the IPL. Nehal Wadhera who scored his second successive fifty in the IPL, finished the chase with a six.

Ishan Kishan was rapid as Mumbai Indians got off to a start to their chase of 200 but a lot would depend on how Rohit Sharma did on Tuesday night. Rohit had four successive single digit scores in the tournament including ducks in back-to-back matches. While Rohit watched from the non-striker's end, Ishan smashed 4 fours and 4 sixes to set the tone for a steep chase.

Mohammed Siraj has been one of the most potent bowlers in the powerplay this season but even he was treated with disdain as Ishan Kishan looked determined to make the most of the first six overs. Josh Hazlewood was shown scant respect as well as Ishan displayed a wide range of shots in front of a packed crowd at the Wankhede.

Wanindu Hasaranga stopped the run flow in his first over. After Siraj and Hazlewood 40 runs between them in the first four overs, the Sri Lankan spinner removed Ishan Kishan for a 21-ball 42 and Rohit Sharma whose nightmares continued as the MI skipper departed for 7 off 8 balls.

However, Suryakumar Yadav and Nehal Wadhera kept MI in the hunt with a scintillating partnership. Wadhera had scored his maiden IPL fifty against Chennai Super Kings a few days ago and on Tuesday, he continued his red-hot form in a huge chase and matched Suryakumar Yadav, the best T20 batter in the world, shot for shot in an entertaining partnership. At the end of 10 overs, MI reached 99 for 2 and a great launchpad to chase down 200.

With MI in firm control of the chase, Suryakumar Yadav unleashed some stunning shots and hit Mohammed Siraj for a 4, 6 and then a single to bring up his half-century off 26 balls. It was now MI's game to lose as Wadhera settled down to play an innings which was remarkably matured for a 22-year-playing his first


With 8 runs needed off 27 balls, Vijaykumar Vyshak struck twice off successive balls to dismiss Suryakumar Yadav and Tim David. But there was no further drama as MI won with plenty to spare.

Jason Behrendorff rocked Royal Challengers Bangalore after Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and decided to field at the Wankhede Stadium. Virat Kohli might have struggled with his strike-rate in the 2023 IPL but he is among the leading run-scorers this season. He also top-scored with an unbeaten 82 in RCB's first match of the season against MI on April 2. On Tuesday, Kohli was sent back by Behrendorff for 1 when he tried to hit the pacer and edged to Ishan Kishan behind the stumps.

Jason Behrendorff struck again in his second over to dismiss Anuj Rawat who was sent in at No.3. At 16 for 2 in the third over, RCB were in a spot of bother but that also brought together the two most dangerous batters in the team. Faf du Plessis has been in stunning form for RCB this year and is the leading-run scorer so far. With his side in trouble, du Plessis led from the front again and smashed 5 fours and 3 sixes in a 41-ball 65. With Glenn Maxwell, du Plessis added 120 runs for the third wicket in just 10.1 overs.

RCB raced away to 104 for 2 at the halfway stage and were looking good for a huge score. But MI struck back when Jason Behrendorff picked his third wicket to send back Glenn Maxwell for a 33-ball 68. His innings was laced with 8 fours and 4 sixes and that dismissal at that stage would soon derail the RCB middle-order.

Mahipal Lomror and Faf du Plessis were removed in the next two overs by Kumar Kartikeya and Cameron Green. RCB needed another power-packed innings from somewhere in the middle-order and it came from Dinesh Karthik who smashed 30 off 18 balls. Kedar Jadhav replaced Mahipal Lomror as the Impact Player managed only 12 off 10 balls and remained unbeaten. It was eventually a superb fightback by MI to keep RCB under 200. Akash Madhwal, who gave away 17 runs in his first over, conceded only 6 runs off the final over to keep RCB to 199 for 6.

Jason Behrendorff was the pick of the MI bowlers with 3 for 36 off his four overs. Kumar Kartikeya was also impressive while Cameron Green picked 1 for 15 off his 2 overs. Chris Jordan who made his debut for Mumbai Indians after replacing Jofra Archer, picked the important wicket of Dinesh Karthik but leaked 48 runs off his four overs. Piyush Chawla, who is in the race for the Purple Cap, went wicketless for the second time this season after their tournament opener against the same opposition over a month ago.
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which political party will form the government in Telangana state on December 9?

Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS)
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)