Shikhar Dhawan once again delivered the goods with his bat as Delhi Capitals romped home with 5 wickets to spare against Chennai Super Kings and MS Dhoni's men succumbed to their 6th defeat in 9 matches in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 in Sharjah on Saturday.

With the win, DC reclaim the top spot on the points table with 7 wins from 9 matches as the Delhi completed a convincing double over a side to whom they had lost quite a few in the past.

Chasing 180 for victory, Delhi Capitals got off to a poor start as DC opener Prithvi Shaw once again failed to trouble the scoreboard and was caught behind in the very first over off Deepak Chahar. Chahar struck twice in the powerplay, picking up the wickets of Shaw and Ajinkya Rahane. Rahane departed for 8, thanks to a stunning catch from Sam Curran at the point.

Shikhar Dhawan, unperturbed by loss of partners, kept scoring boundaries at will at the other end and looked to take the game away with a solid 68-run stand with Shreyas Iyer before Dwayne Bravo got rid of DC skipper in the 12th over. Marcus Stoinis was the next DC batsman to depart as he was caught by Rayudu off Shardul Thakur before scoring quickfire 24 off just 14 balls.

Earlier, Faf Du Plessis hit his fourth fifty of the season before Ambati Rayudu and Ravindra Jadeja produced stunning cameos as a collective batting effort helped Chennai Super Kings post 179 for four against Delhi Capitals.

Du Plessis (58) added 87 runs with Shane Watson (36) after the early fall of Sam Curran (0), setting it up nicely for the CSK. Rayudu hit 45 off 25 balls while Ravindra Jadeja hit four sixes in his fiery 33-run knock as CSK collected runs in the last three overs. One of Jadeja''s sixes landed on the road outside the stadium. They added 50 runs in 3.3 overs during their unbeaten fifth-wicket partnership.

While Watson relied on safe ground-strokes considering the sluggish track Du Plessis did not hesitate to improvise, playing a lot of scoop shots. He pulled the short ones with ease. 
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

Which political party will win the GHMC elections 2020?