Board of Control for Cricket in India, BCCI has announced India's 15-member Test squad for the upcoming home series against South Africa starting on 2nd October.

Opener KL Rahul has been dropped citing poor form during the West Indies tour and Rohit Sharma will be given a chance to open the innings with Mayank Agarwal.

Rohit will captain the Board President's XI, which will take on the South Africans in a three-day tour match in Vizianagaram from 26th of September.

Shubman Gill was named a replacement for KL Rahul. The 20-year-old Gill's inclusion was on expected lines after he top-scored for India A in the tour of West Indies and was adjudged man of the series.

He became the youngest Indian to score a first-class double hundred during the series.

Pace bowler Umesh Yadav has also been dropped with left-arm spinner Kuldeep Yadav brought in as a replacement. India's first Test against South Africa will start in Visakhapatnam on 2nd of October, while the second and third games will be held in Pune (October 10-14) and Ranchi (October 19-23) respectively.

Ranked no.1 in the ICC Test rankings, India also lead the points table in the World Test Championship with 120 points after crushing West Indies in both matches.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Is 21 days lockdown is necessary to control coronavirus cases in India?

Can't Say