Indian team management will take a final call on Ravichandran Ashwin on the morning of the Test after the off-spinner was named in the 13-man squad for the Sydney Test against Australia, starting January 3. It was reported early on Wednesday that Ashwin could not recover in time and will miss out on the fourth and final Test against Australia at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG).

An Indian team spokesperson had announced on the eve of the match that Ashwin was unfit to play. However, it looks like the Indian team are willing to give Ashwin the chance to prove his fitness till the last moment.

Ashwin, who performed admirably in the first Test against Australia at Adelaide by taking 6 for 149, has been unable to be a part of the series ever since.

Ashwin was forced to miss the second and third Test in Perth and Melbourne, respectively, with a side strain. He is attempting to get fit for the SCG, which is expected to assist spinners, but could not pass the test.

"R Ashwin is not 100 percent fit and won't be available for selection," the spokesman told reporters.

Batsman Rohit Sharma is already out of reckoning as he return home a couple of days ago to be with his wife Ritika Sajdeh after their first child was born on India.

India are now tossing up between Ashwin and bringing KL Rahul back in at the opener's slot and put Hanuma Vihari back at No.6.

Ashwin attempted to be ready in time to feature for India in the final Test but it could not happen as he failed the fitness test.

India, who have also named Kuldeep Yadav in the squad might do well to give him a look alongside Jadeja.

A major change has also been that Ishant Sharma was replaced by Umesh Yadav in the squad for the Test.

Ishant, one of the disciplined pace trio that have done so much to put India in such a strong position, was left out because of what the team said was "rib cage discomfort".

Having sealed a 2-1 lead after beating Australia by 137 runs in Melbourne earlier this week, Kohli's men will be bidding to become the first Indian team to beat the hosts in a Test series at their own backyard.

India's 13-man squad: Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane (VC), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

Which political party will win the Huzurabad bypoll election?