With this 160-run victory over the Netherlands, India made history at the 2023 World Cup by becoming the first team to go undefeated in the round-robin format, winning all nine games. Before the Indian team, no side had ever won nine consecutive ODI World Cup matches, with Sri Lanka (1996) and Australia (2003) getting close—eight—when the entire tournament could be won in as little as nine games.

Their exceptional performance in the ongoing tournament showcases a fearless and invincible display of cricket. This dominance follows their triumph in the Asia Cup earlier in the year, ending a five-year trophy drought and solidifying India's reputation as a formidable force in international cricket.

The win was set up by the batters who put on a fine display, and all five batters that took the crease at least scored a half-century. The bowlers had more than enough runs to defend, and Mohammed Siraj picked up an early wicket as well. The pacers, though, weren't quite able to conjure up much and then it was Kuldeep Yadav who broke up a crucial stand.

Ravindra Jadeja followed suit and

picked up a wicket himself, but India just couldn't rip through the Dutch middle order. They tried out a few part-time options, and it was Virat Kohli who picked up the wicket of the opposition skipper. Slowly but surely, the bowlers started to pick up wickets at regular intervals, and Jasprit Bumrah got a couple of wickets as well, just like Siraj, Jadeja, and Kuldeep. In the end, it was skipper Rohit Sharma, who rolled his arms over, picked up the final wicket of the group stage, and sealed the win for his side.

With the round-robin stage over, New Zealand stand between India and another World Cup final. The Blackcaps struggled in qualification, losing four games in a row following an unbeaten start. On the eve of the semi-finals, Pakistan and Afghanistan threatened to overtake them, but the 2015 and 2019 finalists held firm, defeating Sri Lanka in their final league match to join India, South Africa, and Australia in the knockouts.

Only two teams have won the Cricket World Cup after staying undefeated throughout the tournament. The West Indies did it in 1975 and 1979, while Australia did it in 2003 and 2007.
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Do you think there should be a retirement age in politics?

Can't Say