Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer returned to the Test line-up as England selectors announced the 16-men squad for the first two Tests against India, while adding six more reserves to the touring list.

Archer and Stokes were rested for the two-match Test series against Sri Lanka while Rory Burns, who as well has returned to the Test squad, was at home for the birth of his first child.

Ollie Pope will travel with the England squad to India, but will only be added on passing the fitness test. He had incurred a shoulder injury in September during the Test series against Pakistan.

From the squad for the Sri Lanka series, only three players will be sent home - Jonathan Bairstow, Sam Curran and Mark Wood - as the "National Selectors have provided a block of rest".

The Test series will begin with the opener on February 5 in Chennai where the second Test will be played as well, before the proceedings shift to Ahmedabad's Motera Stadium.

England Men’s Test Squad:

Joe Root (Yorkshire) (captain), Jofra Archer (Sussex), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), James Anderson (Lancashire), Dom Bess (Yorkshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Rory Burns (Surrey), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Zak Crawley (Kent), Ben Foakes (Surrey), Dan Lawrence (Essex), Jack Leach (Somerset), Dom Sibley (Warwickshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), Olly Stone (Warwickshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire).

James Bracey (Gloucestershire), Mason Crane (Hampshire), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Matthew Parkinson (Lancashire), Ollie Robinson (Sussex), Amar Virdi (Surrey)

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh
etemaad live tv watch now

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which Men's cricket team will win the T20 World Cup 2024?

New Zealand