India batter Shreyas Iyer will join the T20I squad as the vice-captain for the last two matches of the upcoming five-match series against Australia. Suryakumar Yadav is set to lead India’s squad in the T20I series against Australia, starting November 23.

Shreyas will return to play T20I cricket for India after a gap of one year, having played his last T20I in November 2022.

This will be Suryakumar's first assignment as the captain of an Indian side. The world number 1 T20I batter has led Mumbai Indians in the 2023 Indian Premier League at times. The first T20I will witness Ruturaj Gaikwad stepping up as the deputy for Suryakumar.

India have summoned the emerging Rinku Singh, who showcased his skills on the international stage during the tour of Ireland earlier this year. In addition, Tilak Varma and Yashasvi Jaiswal have also earned their way back into the Indian squad.

These exhilarating T20Is will serve as the initial stepping

stones for India's ardent preparation for the forthcoming T20 World Cup, set to unfold next year in the West Indies and the United States of America.

India will face Australia in the first T20I on Thursday, November 23 at the Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium in Visakhapatnam. Thiruvananthapuram, Guwahati, Nagpur and Hyderabad will host the other four matches on November 26, 28, December 1 and 3 respectively.

India’s squad: Suryakumar Yadav (C), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dubey, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar, Shreyas Iyer (to join the side for the last two T20Is).

Australia’s squad: Matthew Wade (C), David Warner, Travis Head, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Josh Inglis, Jason Behrendorff, Sean Abbott, Nathan Ellis, Spencer Johnson, Adam Zampa, Tanveer Sangha.
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which cricket team will win the IPL 2024?

Rajasthan Royals
Kolkata Knight Riders
Lucknow Super Giants