ICC launches World Test Championship

Tue 30 Jul 2019, 12:45:36
The International Cricket Council (ICC) today officially launched the inaugural World Test Championship (WTC), which will get underway on Thursday. 

To be played over two years, the World Test Championship will witness the top nine Test teams in the world compete in 71 Test matches across 27 series. The two top teams will then go head to head in the World Test Championship final to be held in the United Kingdom in 2021. 

Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies are the nine teams that will battle it out for the top honours in the World Test Championship.

The International

Cricket Council (ICC) first came up with the idea in 2009 and the championship was approved in 2010, with plans of hosting the first edition in 2013. The tournament got postponed to 2017 and was cancelled later. Finally, it was decided that the inaugural ICC World Test Championship will be played from 1st of next month to 30th April 30, 2021.

Every series in the championship will be worth 120 points, irrespective of the number of Tests. Therefore, a team can score a maximum of 720 points in a cycle.

India will begin their campaign in the championship with the two-match Test series against the West Indies starting on 22nd of next month.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which cricket team will win the IPL 2023 trophy?

Gujarat Titans
Chennai Super Kings
Lucknow Super Giants