The International Cricket Council on Tuesday announced the expansion of global events for men's cricket. After its virtual board meeting, it was confirmed that the Champions Trophy, an 8-team tournament, will be re-introduced and played in 2024 and 2028. The Champions Trophy will follow previous editions with two groups of four, semi-finals and final.

The T20 World Cup, which is currently being played with 16 teams, will be expanded to 20 teams in the 2024-31 cycle. As many as 4 T20 World Cup tournaments will be played in the said period. The T20 World Cup will be a 55-match affair during the said period.

The 50-over World Cup, which was brought down to 10 teams in 2019, will be expanded to 14 teams in 2027 and 2031. 54 matches will be played in the T20 World Cups.

Meanwhile, the World Test Championship will continue in the next Future Tours and Programmes Cycle (FTP). World Test

Championship Finals will be hosted in 2025, 2027, 2029 and 2031. However, it remains to be seen if there will be a World Test Championship final at the end of the current cycle in 2023. Notably, India will host a 50-over World Cup with 10 teams in 2023.

50-over World Cup: 2 Groups of 7 teams each, top 3 qualify for Super Six

T20 World Cup: 4 Groups of 5 teams each, top 2 qualify for Super Eight

"Men's Cricket World Cup format will have two groups of seven, with the top three in each group progressing to a Super Six stage, followed by semi-finals and final. This is the same format that was used in the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2003," the ICC said in a release.

"The format of the Men's T20 World Cup will consist of four groups of five, with the top two from each group going through to a Super Eights stage, followed by the knockout stages of semi-finals and a final," it added.
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh
etemaad live tv watch now

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Should the NTA be replaced with a new testing body?

Can't say