Chennai Super Kings (CSK) maintain their hundred per cent record at home, MA Chidambaram Stadium at Chepauk as they beat the high-flying Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by 7 wickets on a slow surface on Monday, April 8. It all went CSK's way starting from the toss to the result as on a tricky pitch, despite KKR getting a good start in the powerplay, the Men in Yellow restricted the famed batting line-up to just 137 and chased it down without much discomfort with 14 balls to spare. 

At 56/1, Knight Riders actually got off to a good start with the bat despite losing Phil Salt on the first ball of the match. However, the match turned as soon as the spinners came in to bowl after the powerplay. Ravindra Jadeja got both the set batters Angkrish Raghuvanshi and Sunil Narine in the same over to peg back KKR and if that wasn't enough, he soon accounted for Venkatesh Iyer's scalp to leave the visitors reeling.

The rescue act became long and slow for

skipper Shreyas Iyer and Ramandeep Singh, who after hitting a six was cleaned up by Maheesh Theekshana. The innings never got going for KKR after that as not just the incoming batters, but the set skipper Iyer also struggled as despite a few boundaries in the end by Andre Russell, the Knight Riders fell short of a fighting total by at least 20-25 runs. 

Like KKR, CSK followed the memo of starting quickly in the powerplay as Ruturaj Gaikwad and Rachin Ravindra got a few boundaries off early. However, Vaibhav Arora gave some hope to his side with Ravindra's wicket in the fourth over.

Daryl Mitchell walked in at No. 3 in place of Ajinkya Rahane, who wasn't on the field for most of CSK's bowling innings. Mitchell and Gaikwad calmed the nerves and stitched a match-winning partnership of 70 runs. Since the required rate was never a concern, both the batters paced the chase nicely by giving respect to the bowlers and getting the odd boundaries.
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which cricket team will win the IPL 2024?

Rajasthan Royals
Kolkata Knight Riders
Lucknow Super Giants