Bangladesh U-19 lifts World Cup 2020

Mon 10 Feb 2020, 10:51:11
Potchefstroom: A sprightly bunch of Bangladesh boys created history by winning their country’s first global cricket title, shocking defending champions India by three wickets in the summit clash of the ICC U-19 World Cup here on Sunday.

In a low-scoring final, Bangladesh first choked India to a meagre 177 in 47.2 overs and then did well enough to score revised target of 170 in 42.1 overs under Duckworth-Lewis method. Once play resumed after rain, target was revised to 170 and with seven runs to get and three wickets in hand, it became a cakewalk for the ‘Tiger Cubs’ as they scripted a golden chapter in their country’s cricket history.

India’s cricketing battles with Bangladesh have been filled with acrimony since 2015 World Cup quarter-final at the MCG and it had only amplified with the kind of boorish behaviour that some of the Bangladeshi players displayed. On Sunday also, a few players from both sides nearly came to blows at the end of the game and it was India coach Paras Mhambrey, who was seen urging his boys to keep calm as opposition leading pacer Shariful Islam was seen swearing expletives on camera.

Even then, credit should go Bangladesh’s 18-year-old captain Akbar Ali, who showed nerves of steel with a patient 43 not out off 77 balls, which negated more fancied opponent Yashasvi Jaiswal’s 88 off 121 balls. 

Akbar’s cool quotient was there for everyone to see as he marshalled his resources brilliantly and then batted responsibly, seeing out India’s threats from leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi and fast bowler Kartik Tyagi’s spells before reaching the finishing line with ease. There were two things that cost India dearly. While batting, India lost their last seven wickets for 23 runs.

And then while defending, the number of extras (33) bowled did matter in the final context of the game. Bangladesh’s chase started in earnest with Parvez Hossain Emon (47 off 79 balls) and Tanzid Hasan (17) adding 50 in quick time, primarily due to former’s impressive off-side play. However, things changed once leg-spinner Bishnoi (4/30 in 10 overs) came into the attack and started bowling his googlies.

First he got Tanzid holed out in the deep and then had Mahmudul Hassan Joy (8) played on with another wrong ‘un and Towhid Hridoy was also rapped on the pads and Dhruv Jurel effected a smart stumping to make it 65 for 4. With Emon back in the hut due to hamstring injury, it was on skipper Akbar to show composure in the hour of crisis even as left-arm seamer Sushant Singh in his second and third spell got a couple of wickets.

Then, it was Emon who again came back at 102 for 6 as Akbar finally got hold of Bishnoi’s googlies as there was one slog sweep for six. With Bishnoi not having an effective leg-break, he was taken out of the attack. Emon, despite hamstring issues, fought gamely before Jaiswal bowled his part-time leg-breaks and Garg’s gamble paid off with the opener being caught in the extra cover region to make it 143 for 7. 

Earlier, India’s batting wilted under pressure as a superb Bangladesh bowling attack shot the defending champions out for a paltry 177 in 47.2 overs. Jaiswal (88 off 121 balls) was once again a standout performer but not for once did he look like dominating the Bangladesh bowling unit whose new ball bowlers Shariful Islam (2/31 in 10 overs) and Tanzim Hasan Shakib (2/28 in 8.2 overs) literally stifled the Indians for runs.

India Under-19

YBK Jaiswal c Tanzid Hasan b Shoriful Islam 88 (121b, 8×4, 1×6), DA Saxena c Mahmudul Hasan Joy b Avishek Das 2 (17b), NT Tilak Varma c Shoriful Islam b Tanzim Hasan Sakib 38 (65b, 3×4), PK Garg c Tanzid Hasan b Rakibul Hasan 7 (9b), DC Jurel run out (Shamim Hossain/Akbar Ali) 22 (38b, 1×4), SA Veer lbw b Shoriful Islam 0 (1b), AV Ankolekar b Avishek Das 3 (7b), Ravi Bishnoi run out (Shoriful Islam) 2 (6b), SS Mishra c Shoriful Islam b Tanzim Hasan Sakib 3 (8b), Kartik Tyagi c Akbar Ali b Avishek Das 0 (5b), Akash Singh not out 1 (7b); Extras (lb 1, w 10) 11; Total (All out in 47.2 overs) 177; Fall of wickets: 1-9, 2-103, 3-114, 4-156, 5-156, 6-168, 7-170, 8-170, 9-172; 

Bowling: Shoriful Islam 10-1-31-2, Tanzim Hasan Sakib 8.2-2-28-2, Avishek Das 9-0-40-3, Shamim Hossain 6-0-36-0, Rakibul Hasan 10-1-29-1, Towhid Hridoy 4-0-12-0

Bangladesh Under-19

Parvez Hossain Emon c Akash Singh b Jaiswal 47 (79b, 7×4), Tanzid Hasan c Kartik Tyagi b Ravi Bishnoi 17 (25b, 2×4, 1×6), Mahmudul Hasan Joy b Ravi Bishnoi 8 (12b, 2×4), Towhid Hridoy lbw b Ravi Bishnoi 0 (2b), Shahadat Hossain st Jurel b Ravi Bishnoi 1 (10b), Akbar Ali not out
43 (77b, 4×4, 1×6), Shamim Hossain c Jaiswal b Mishra 7 (18b), Avishek Das c Kartik Tyagi b Mishra 5 (7b, 1×4), Rakibul Hasan not out 9 (25b, 1×4)
Extras; (b 8, lb 4, nb 2, w 19) 33; Total (For 7 wkts in 42.1 overs) 170; Fall of wickets: 1-50, 2-62, 3-62, 4-65, 5-85, 6-102, 7-143; 

Bowling: Kartik Tyagi 10-2-33-0, SS Mishra 7-0-25-2, Akash Singh 8-1-33-0, Ravi Bishnoi 10-3-30-4, AV Ankolekar 4.1-0-22-0, YBK Jaiswal 3-0-15-1

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Can Plasma Therapy cure coronavirus patients?

Cant't Say