The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced India's squad for the Asia Cup 2022, starting August 27 in the UAE. The first-choice players returned to the squad for the all-important tournament.

Virat Kohli and KL Rahul were the two big names who returned to the squad after having missed a major chunk of T20Is in the ongoing year. Hardik Pandya's availability has given India the cushion to go with 4 spinners, including Ravichandran Ashwin.

KL Rahul has been named the vice-captain ahead of Hardik Pandya, who recently led India in the 5th T20I in West Indies and the tour of Ireland.


Kohli's place in the side was questioned after a string of ordinary performances in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022. Kohli was expected to do well after he was rested for the home T20I series against South Africa but the former captain struggled in England in the Test series and the limited-overs series.

India squad for Asia Cup 2022
Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar, Rishabh Pant, Deepak Chahar, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravi Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan

Back-up: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Axar Patel.
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Do you think, Telangana CM KCR can be successful after launching the new national party?

Can't Say