7 Australian players skip West Indies tour

Thu 17 Jun 2021, 10:36:18
Melbourne: Seven top Australian cricketers who recently played in the IPL have pulled out of the country’s white-ball tour of West Indies and Bangladesh.

The two tours are part of team’s preparations for the T20 World Cup later this year.

David Warner, Pat Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Marcus Stoinis and Daniel Sams have requested not to be considered for the tours for various reasons while Steve Smith has been rested to fully recover from an elbow complaint which flared during the IPL, Cricket Australia said in a statement.

Cricket Australia on Wednesday named a 18-man squad for the twin tours. Australia play five T20Is and three ODIs between July 9 and 24. The five-match T20 tour of Bangladesh is yet to be confirmed.

Jason Behrendorff, Moises Henriques and Riley Meredith have all agreed to go for the tour despite also being part of the IPL contingent that recently left hotel quarantine.

The squad is due to depart for the West Indies on June 28 for five T20Is in St Lucia followed by three ODIs in Barbados. If confirmed, the team will then play five T20Is against Bangladesh.

Squad: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Wes Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Dan Christian, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Marsh, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.

Travelling reserves: Nathan Ellils, Tanveer Sangha.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

Do you think India will improve its medal tally at the upcoming Tokyo Olympics?

Can't Say