Team India have confirmed their playing XI for the elusive ICC World Test Championship final against New Zealand at the Rose Bowl in Southampton , which starts from June 18 (Friday).

As expected, India have gone in with Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill at the top followed by the ever-reliant Cheteshwar Pujara at the No.3 spot. Skipper Virat Kohli will bat at his usual position followed by vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane and young wicket-keeper batter Rishabh Pant, who has been in outstanding form off-late.

There were speculations that India might drop Ravindra Jadeja to accommodate a pure batsman in Hanuma Vihari but the management has shown trust in their spin duo of Ravichandran Ashwin  and Jadeja. They have done exceptionally well in the last couple of years in this format and will come in handy in the WTC final.

Meanwhile, Ishant Sharma will pair with Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami to lead the pace attack. A couple of reports suggested that Mohammed Siraj  might sneak in, but the management has shown trust in the experience of Ishant.

Team India playing XI for WTC final:

Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

Do you think India will improve its medal tally at the upcoming Tokyo Olympics?

Can't Say