India will compete alongside Kazakhstan, Malaysia, the United Arab Emirates, and Malaysia in Group B of the Asia Mixed Team Championships, which will take place in Dubai from February 14 to February 19.

The draw for the continental championships, which feature a total of 17 teams and feature double Olympic medalist PV Sindhu, was made public on Tuesday at the Dubai Sports Council. The prestigious event will take place at the Dubai Exhibition Centre after the previous edition was postponed in 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Defending champions China, Korea, Singapore and Uzbekistan are clubbed in Group A, while Group C comprises Indonesia, Thailand, Bahrain, Syria and Lebanon and 2017 champion Japan, Chinese Taipei, last edition's bronze medallists Hong Kong and Pakistan are drawn in

Group D.

China, Japan, Indonesia, and Malaysia are the top four seeded teams. All the teams in the group will compete in a round-robin format with the top two teams advancing to the knockout stage. Each tie will comprise two singles and three doubles matches.

The Indian team consists of Sindhu, Aakarshi Kashyap, Commonwealth Games champion Lakshya Sen, world No. 9 HS Prannoy, world No 5 Satwiksairaj Ranikreddy and Chirag Shetty, Krishna Prasad Garga and Vishnuvardhan Goud P and Commonwealth Games bronze medallists Treesa Jolly and Gayatri Gopichand, Ashwini Bhat/Shikha Gautam, mixed doubles pair of Ishaan Bhatnagar and Tanisha Crasto.

India failed to cross the quarterfinal stage in the inaugural edition in 2017 and ended their campaign at the group stage in 2019.
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which political party will win the assembly elections in Karnataka?

Janata Dal (Secular)