The 2024 edition of the Badminton Asia Championship will begin today in Ningbo, China. Star shuttlers, including H S Prannoy, Kidambi Srikanth, Lakshya Sen, PV Sindhu and others will represent the Indian contingent. In Men’s singles, H S Prannoy will take on Lu Guangzhou of China whereas Kidambi Srikanth will lock horns with Anthony Ginting of Indonesia in the opening round. Meanwhile, Lakshya Sen will face the top-seeded Shi Yu Qi in the first round. Another Indian shuttler Priyanshu Rajawat will also mark the Indian presence in the tournament. He will meet Malaysia’s Lee Zii in the first round.

In women’s singles, P V Sindhu will take on the Malaysian Goh Jin Wei in the first round. Sindhu will be accompanied by Aakarshi Kashyap, who will be facing Thailand’s Busanan

Ongbamrungphan, in the main draw. Meanwhile, Ashmita Chaliha and Malvika Bansod will start from the qualifiers.

In Men’s doubles, the pair of MR Arjun and Dhruv Kapila will face the seventh-seeded Chinese Liu Yu Chen and Ou Xuan Yi. Krishna Prasad Garaga and Sai Pratheek K are also in the fray. In women’s doubles, the duo of Tanisha Crasto and Ashwini Ponnappa will face the Indonesian pair of Febriana Dwipuji Kusuma and Amalia Cahaya Pratiwi, while Treesa Jolly and Gayatri Gopichand will take on the fourth-seeded Liu Sheng Shu and Tan Ning of China.

The competition will provide an opportunity for players to boost their rankings ahead of the 2024 Paris Olympics which will take place in July this year. 

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which cricket team will win the IPL 2024?

Rajasthan Royals
Kolkata Knight Riders
Lucknow Super Giants