After having missed the last month’s Test series in South Africa due to a hamstring injury, former Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews has made a comeback ahead of the home series against England. Sri Lanka are set to host England for a 2-match Test series, starting Thursday. The 33-year-old star batsman has played 86 test matches for Sri Lanka and is fit ahead of the first Test.

The aforementioned series, which was originally scheduled to start in March 2020, was previously abandoned due to the COVID-19 outbreak. Both the Tests will be held at the Galle International Stadium in Sri Lanka, behind closed doors.

Apart from Angelo Mathews, Nuwan Pradeep is recalled to the Squad along with Roshen Silva, Lakshan Sandakan and the uncapped Ramesh Mendis. Meanwhile, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kasun Rajitha, Santhush Gunathilake and Dilshan Madushanka are being ruled out of the series. These four cricketers were a part of the South Africa tour last month. Dhananjaya de Silva and Kasun Rajitha had suffered injuries during the South Africa tour.

The two-match Test series, starting January 14, will be a part of the ICC Test Championship.

Sri Lanka Squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (Captain), Kusal Janith Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Oshada Fernando, Niroshan Dickwella, Minod Bhanuka, Lahiru Thirimanne, Lasith Embuldeniya, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Dasun Shanaka, Asitha Fernando, Roshen Silva, Lakshan Sandakan, Nuwan Pradeep, Ramesh Mendis

The England team had arrived Sri Lanka earlier this month and Moeen Ali had returned positive results for the COVID-19 test. However, with no more cases in the side, the series will go ahead as scheduled.

England Squad: Joe Root (capt), Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler (wk), Zak Crawley, Sam Curran, Ben Foakes (wk), Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Dom Sibley, Olly Stone, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

Reserves: James Bracey (wk), Mason Crane, Saqib Mahmood, Craig Overton, Matthew Parkinson, Ollie Robinson, Amar Virdi.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh
learn quran online easily

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

Which political party will win the Nagarjuna Sagar Assembly by-poll to be held on April 17?