Melbourne: Former World Number One Andy Murray and favourite Daniil Medvedev advanced to the second round of Australian Open Tennis tournament. Andy Murray of Britain earned his first victory at the tournament in five years, overcoming 21st seed Nikoloz Basilashvili 6-1, 3-6, 6-4, 6-7(5), 6-4 in the first round of Men's Singles in Melbourne.

Russia's Daniil Medvedev registered a 6-1, 6-4, 7-6 (3) win over Henri Laaksonen of Switzerland in the first round at Melbourne Park.
After Sunday's deportation of Men's defending champion and top seed Novak Djokovic, the first Grand Slam of the year is now in full swing and eager to move on from the visa saga.

In the Women's draw, top-10 seeds Aryna Sabalenka, Garbine Muguruza, Iga Swiatek and Anett Kontaveit, all made comfortable starts to their campaign and entered the second round. Former number one Simona Halep also won despite struggling with her serve.
Second seed Sabalenka triumphed defeated wildcard Storm Sanders 5-7, 6-3, 6-2 in the opening round.

Spanish world number three Garbine Muguruza eased past 77th-ranked Frenchwoman Clara Burel 6-3, 6-4.

Seventh seed Swiatek of Poland defeated Britain's Harriet Dart, 6-3, 6-0.

Estonian player and sixth seed Anett Kontaveit overcomed Czech player Katerina Siniakova 6-2, 6-3.

14th seed Halep of Romania laboured into round two 6-4, 6-3 after an error-strewn clash with Poland's Magdalena Frech which saw 11 service breaks.

However, 19-year-old US Open runner-up Leylah Fernandez - the 23rd seed, went down 6-4, 6-2 to Australian wildcard Maddison Inglis, to the delight of the home crowd.

Angelique Kerber and Petra Kvitova also bowed out of the tournament. 16th seed Kerber lost to Estonia’s Kaia Kanepi 4-6, 3-6. 20th seed Petra Kvitova of Czeh Republic was defeated by Sorana Cîrstea of Romania 2-6, 2-6.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which cricket team will win the IPL 2022?

Gujarat Titans
Lucknow Super Giants
Rajasthan Royals