Counting of votes for civic elections in West Bengal that went on polls on May 14 is underway.
Seven civic bodies - four in the hills and three in the plains -- voted on Sunday but the election was marred by unprecedented violence that left several people injured and pit the state's opposition parties against the Bengal election chief.
In the hills of Darjeeling, Kurseong, Kalimpong and Mirik, the fight is billed as one between Bengal and Gorkhaland, a reference to a 100-year-old demand for a separate state for the mountain districts.

 Final results out for Domkal municipality in Murshidabad that went to civic polls for the first time. Trinamool Congress wins 20 out of 21 seats, Congress-Left combine wins 1. BJP none.
 Senior Trinamool leader Subhendu Adhikari describes party's wins as a victory against communal forces
 The four victories will bolster chief minister Mamata Banerjee, who is fighting a series of corruption allegations and asked people to vote based on her record of development
 Gorkha Janmukti Morcha, an ally of BJP, opens its account. Wins Kurseong municipality by bagging 17 out of 20 seats.
 So far, the ruling Trinamool Congress has won four of seven municipalities and 60 wards out of 73 (or 82%) in Mirik, Domkal, Pujali and Raiganj.
 Trinamool Congress has won 18 out of 21 seats in Domkal municipality in Murshidabad.
 Trinamool Congress wins Pujali municipality in South 24 Parganas.
 Trinamool Congress wins in Domkal municipality amid allegations of rigging and booth capturing.
 All eyes are on Domkol municipality, where massive violence, allegations of booth capturing and bomb blasts marred polls. Congress has withdrawn its candidate.
 "The victory of TMC in Mirik proves that the people of the hills have reposed their faith in the chief minister. During campaigning the residents used to tell us that development always bypasses Mirik," says state public works minister Aroop Biswas
Raiganj civic polls were marred by violence that left two people injured after bomb blasts. The BJP had withdrawn its candidates. TMC has won 24 out of 27 seats.
 Raiganj was a stronghold of the Congress and its senior state leader Deepa Dasmunsi, wife of former Union minister Priya Ranjan Dasmunsi.
 TMC wins Raiganj municipality in North Dinajpur municipality. It trounced the opposition in 22 of the 27 wards.
 This is a historic victory. It belongs to the people of the hills and chief minister Mamata Banerjee. A mainstream political party winning a civic body in the hills after three decades is historic indeed: Gautam Deb, tourism minister and TMC president of Darjeeling district
 The Gorkha Janmukti Morcha-BJP combine won three wards in Mirik
 The Trinamool Congress surges to a victory in north Bengal's Mirik civic body by winning six out of nine wards. This is the first time in 30 years that a party from the plains won in the hills torn apart by a decades-long movement for a separate state.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Mob lynching is continuously occurred in different parts of India. Is this threat to democracy?

Can't say