The seventh and final phase of elections in Uttar Pradesh is taking place on Wednesday. Polling has begun in 40 constituencies including PM Narendra Modi’s Lok Sabha constituency Varanasi. The last week saw a series of rallies and campaigning by leaders from all parties, especially in Varanasi. Prime Minister Modi spent three days in his constituency taking out two road shows and addressing two major rallies.
Polling will be held till 5 pm in all constituencies, except the Naxal-hit Duddhi, Robertsganj and Chakia seats, where polling will end at 4 pm.
Prominent candidates who are in fray include former Cabinet minister Om Prakash, Parasnath Yadav, Ajay Rai, former MP Dhananjay Singh, Sigbatullah Ansari, brother of Mukhtar Ansari, and Seema Singh wife of jailed mafia Munna Bajrangi.

elections are being held in seven phases in Uttar Pradesh and so far six phases have been concluded peacefully. The results will be declared on March 11 along with that of Manipur, Uttarakhand, Goa and Punjab. Voter turnout on these seats was 57.92 per cent in 2012 Assembly polls.
 60.03 per cent turnout in last phase
 Voting for seventh phase of Uttar Pradesh elections ended at 5:30pm.
 Around 56 per cent voters exercised their franchise till 4 pm in the last phase of Uttar Pradesh elections covering 40 Assembly seats spread over seven districts.
 In Jaunpur, BJP candidate from Jafarabad seat Harendra Pratap Singh and four others were arrested by the police for allegedly carrying voters to polling booths in two vehicles. Singh has however denied the charge.
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Do you think Rishi Sunak can win the race to be the next UK prime minister?

Can't Say