Poll campaign picks up momentum in Gujarat

Wed 23 Nov 2022, 12:05:12
Ahmedabad: In Gujarat, the poll campaign has picked up momentum with the senior leaders crisscrossing the state seeking votes for the party.

Prime Minister and senior BJP leader Narendra Modi will address four rallies at Mahesana, Dahod, Vadodara, and Bhavnagar today.

So far, Mr. Modi has addressed eight rallies in the state in this assembly polls.

On the other hand, Congress leader and former Minister Manish Tewari as well Spokesperson Aalok Sharma will join the party's poll campaign today. Aam Aadmi Party's leaders Raghav Chaddha and Bhagwant Maan will also campaign in the state to reach out to voters. 

Meanwhile, the BJP has suspended 12 party members for filing nominations as an independent after they were denied tickets for the second phase of the Assembly elections.

Nearly four crore 91 lakh 35 thousand

voters will decide the fate of 1621 candidates in the two-phases of the Assembly polls. Interestingly, the voters also include more than 10,000 centurion voters. For the first time, 10,357 voters who are more than 100 years old will cast their votes in the assembly elections. Among them, the highest 1500 centurion voters are from Ahmedabad district followed by Vaododara, Bhavnagar, Rajkot and Dahod district. As many as 5115 centurion voters will exercise their franchise in the first phase of elections.

Special arrangement made by the election commission for this elections. The senior citizens above 80 years old have been given the right to vote from home through postal ballot. Due to this, more senior citizens are expected to exercise their voting right in this election. There are more than 9 lakh 87 thousand voters aged above 80 years in the state. 

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which political party will form the government in Telangana state on December 9?

Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS)
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)