Nalgonda: Even though two Congress MPs represent Nalgonda and Bhongir Lok Sabha constituencies in erstwhile Nalgonda district, the main opposition party Congress had even failed to field its candidate for Nalgonda Local authorities MLC constituency. The BJP also did not field any candidate for Nalgonda LAC seat.

11 nominations
In all, 11 candidates including 10 independent candidates filed their nominations for Nalgonda Local Authorities’ MLC elections. Several MPTCs and ZPTCs who belong to Congress submitted their nominations as independents, but they made it clear that they were filing nominations as per the decision of MPTCs Forum to mount pressure on the TRS government on their issues

Congress ZPTC from Alair Dr Nagesh told that he filed nomination as a part of decision of Panchayat Raj Chamber, but not as Congress candidate. If Congress declared its candidate he will be the candidate

of the party, he quipped. He filed a nomination protesting against the raw deal meted out to ZPTCs in the state.

According to the sources, the TRS leaders pinned hopes on unanimous election of Koti Reddy by convincing the independent candidates to withdraw their nominations. No Congress leader had shown interest to contest from Nalgonda LAC MLC elections as the TRS had a clear majority of electors. Out of 1,271 electors of the constituency, more than 800 ZPTCs, MPTCs, MPPs, Municipal chairmen and Councilors belongs to the ruling TRS. 

The Congress had a strength of just 256 electors. With this, the victory of Koti Reddy has become crystal clear, which made the leaders of opposition parties not to dare to come forward to contest in the elections.

The scrutiny of nominations will be hold on November 24 and the last date for withdrawal of nominations is November 26.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which political party will form the government in Telangana state on December 9?

Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS)
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)