Imphal: Polling time for the first phase of Manipur Elections 2017 ends
 Polling was held on Saturday for the first phase in 38 Manipur constituencies for the 11th state Legislative Assembly amid tight security. The constituencies were spread across Imphal East, Imphal West, Bishnupur, Churachandpur, Kangpokpi and Phezerol districts.

Central paramilitary forces personnel were manning all polling stations. No other persons, other than voters, were allowed inside. 

In Manipur, there are 5,44,050 men and 5,75,220 women voters for the first phase polling. Besides. more than seven thousans service voters are expected to cast their votes.

BJP is the only party contesting all 60 seats in Manipur while the Congress, which was in power in the outgoing assembly, is fielding 59 candidates. Activist Irom Sharmila, who broke her 16-year fast in 2016 and founded the Peoples Resurgence and Justice Alliance, is also contesting in the Manipur elections.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which political party deserves to win in the UP elections 2022?

Samajwadi Party