Mumbai: As many as 116 candidates are left in the fray for the six Lok Sabha constituencies in Mumbai after the last date of withdrawal of nomination papers ended on Friday. In Mumbai South and South Central, two candidates each withdrew their papers.

In Mumbai South Central, 17 candidates in the fray, while in Mumbai South 13 candidates are contesting. In South Central, sitting Shiv Sena MP Rahul Shewale is pitted against Congress’s Eknath Gaikwad. While in South, sitting Shiv Sena MP Arvind Sawant is contesting against Milind Deora of Congress. Shewale and Sawant had defeated Gaikwad and Deora respectively in 2014.

In the suburbs, 86 candidates remain in

the fray in four constituencies after five candidates withdrew their papers. There are 18 candidates in fray in Mumbai North, 21 in Mumbai North West, 27 in Mumbai North East and 20 in Mumbai North Central. Three candidates each withdrew from North, North West and North East, while two from North Central.

Actor Urmila Matondkar is contesting against BJP’s Gopal Shetty in North; Sanjay Nirupam (Congress) is against Shiv Sena’s Gajanan Kiritkar in North West, Poonam Mahajan of BJP is fighting against Congress candidate Priya Dutt in North Central and NCP’s Sanjay Dina Patil is pitted against BJP’s Manoj Kotak in North East. Election in Mumbai will be held on April 29.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Do you think there should be a retirement age in politics?

Can't Say