The BJP yesterday released another list of six candidates from Uttar Pradesh and Maharashtra. It has announced the name of Manoj Kotak for Mumbai North-East Lok Sabha seat, who will replace sitting MP Kirit Somaiya. The candidature of the two-time MP was in jeopardy as BJP’s ally Shiv Sena had expressed displeasure against Somaiya’s re-nomination.

The Congress also released the list of 10 candidates for Lok Sabha and Assembly elections in Odisha. The list contains the names of one candidate of Lok Sabha and nine for Assembly polls.  

In Bihar, Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLSP) released the names of remaining four candidates for the Lok Sabha polls. RLSP Chief Upendra Kushwaha will fight from two constituencies Ujjiarpur and Karakat.

At a rally at Dinhata in Cooch Behar district of West Bengal, TMC President and Chief  Minister Mamata Banerjee contested Prime Minister's allegations against her. She claimed that TMC government has done a lot for the welfare of the people of the state . Ms Banerjee said, income of farmers in the state has increased three times under the TMC government. 

At a rally at Uttarkashi of Uttarakhand, BJP President Amit Shah said, his party had struggled hard for the formation of the new state. He said, the BJP has fulfilled the demand of One Rank One Pension for the Armed Forces. He also held election meetings at Udhampur and Rajouri districts of Jammu and Kashmir. 

Today is the last day for filing of nominations for the

third phase of Lok Sabha elections. The scrutiny will take place on Friday, while 8th April will be the last date for withdrawal of candidature. 115 constituencies spread over 14 States and Union Territories will go to polls in this phase on the 23rd of April. 

In Uttar Pradesh, BJP leader and Bollywood actor Jaya Prada filed nomination from Rampur seat. SP leader Dharmendra Yadav also submitted papers for Badayun seat. 

FIRs has been lodged against BJP MLA of Shamli, Tejendra Nirwal at Jhijhana police station in Shamli district for making derogatory remark against Samajwadi Party Chief Akhilesh Yadav during a public meeting.  Another FIR for violating Model Code of Conduct has been lodged against Congress candidate of Saharanpur Imran Masood. He had made derogatory remarks against Prime Minister Narendra Modi .

In Assam, 19 candidates filed nomination papers for the third phase, 30 in Bihar and 41 in Kerala. 

In Karnataka, BJP's Prahlad Joshi, Former Congress MLA D R Patil and Madhu Bangarappa of JD(S) were among those who filed their nominations yesterday for the Lok Sabha election. 

In Gujarat, Senior Congress MLA  and Leader of opposition in State Assembly Paresh Dhanani and several other party leaders filed their nominations.

In Jammu and Kashmir, former Chief Minister and PDP President Mehbooba Mufti filed nomination from Anantnag Lok Sabha Constituency.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Do you think there should be a retirement age in politics?

Can't Say