Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee President N Uttam Kumar Reddy has on Friday submitted his resignation after the party's dismal performance in the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) polls.

In the 150-ward GHMC, the Congress has managed to win only two wards, finishing a distant fourth after Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

"I have submitted my resignation from the post of President of Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee. I have requested the AICC to take up the process of selection of new President of Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee immediately," Reddy said in a statement.

Meanwhile, the ruling TRS is all set to retain control of the GHMC, winning 41 of the 150 seats so far, while BJP's high profile campaign appeared to have paid off, with the party winning 22 wards.

The Asaduddin Owaisi-led AIMIM continued its dominance in its traditional stronghold of the old city of Hyderabad, winning 34, as per the latest trends following the counting of votes for the GHMC polls, held on December 1.

learn quran online easily

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

Which political party will win the Nagarjuna Sagar Assembly by-poll to be held on April 17?