The Congress today won the Chitrakoot Assembly by-poll in Madhya Pradesh with its candidate Nilanshu Chaturvedi defeating his nearest BJP rival Shankar Dayal Tripathi by a margin of 14,133 votes.

While Chaturvedi polled 66,810 votes, Tripathi got 52,677 votes, returning officer A P Dwivedi said. 
The counting of votes polled in the November 9 by-election began at around 8 am amid tight security in Satna district, around 400km from here. 
Around 65 per cent voting was recorded in the by-poll necessitated following the death of sitting Congress MLA Prem Singh (65). 
Singh had won the assembly constituency, bordering Uttar Pradesh, in 1998, 2003 and 2013 elections. 
However, he had lost the seat to BJP's Surendra Singh Gaharwar in the 2008 polls. Though 12 candidates contested the by-election, the fight was on between Chaturvedi and Tripathi. 

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Can Centre bring peace in Jammu & Kashmir after scrap of Article 370?

Can't Say