Tripura: In poll bound Tripura, campaigning has got momentum with the arrival of star campaigners of various political parties. Union Home minister and senior BJP leader Amit Shah will address two election rallies in the state today while TMC Chief and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee among other leaders are reaching Tripura to woo the voters. 

The political parties are also making all out efforts to attract the voters through manifesto and declarations. In the 60 members assembly polls, most of the seats are likely to see triangular or multi cornered contests. 

The ruling BJP is contesting in 55 seats while the remaining seats have been left to Indigenous People's Front of Tripur, IPFT. On the other hand, the Congress and Left parties have come together through seat sharing arrangment. The TIPRA Motha Party is contesting in 42 seats while the TMC has given candidates in 28 seats.

Election campaigning has taken a musical upswing in Meghalaya with political parties trying their best to connect with the voters by hitting the right notes. Only 2 days are left for filing nominations for 60 assembly seats of the state which will go to polls on 27th February. ock band performances are regular feature on the streets of Shillong which is called as the rock capital of India. 

But as the elections are approaching even  the remote villages

and towns are witnessing a live soiree with people dancing and singing to some of the liveliest campaign songs of candidates contesting elections. The rallies of candidates and political parties in the state are never complete without good music. The office of the Chief Electoral Officer is also using music concerts to not only promote voting rights among young voters but to make them aware on no votes for cash. 

In Nagaland, besides independent candidates, 12 political parties  are in fray for the forthcoming assembly elections to be held on 27th February. Many political parties which have not been in the forefront in state politics are making an entry in this election.  Rising People’s Party, North East Democratic Front, RPI(A) and LJP (Ram Vilas) will be entering the arena for the first time.

The Republican Party of India (A) and the Janata Dal (United) have released the list of candidates yesterday for the upcoming assembly elections. Naga People’s Front (NPF) has announced names of six more candidates, taking the total to 21 candidates. All Indian Congress Committee also released the four more names adding the candidates list to 25. Aam Aadmi Party will also be fielding candidates for the ensuing state election. The party said, it will announce the intending candidates on February 7, which is also the last date for filing of nominations. 

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Should CSK captain M S Dhoni need to announce retirement from the IPL cricket?

Can't Say