Campaigning for the sixth phase of assembly elections will end today in West Bengal. The move comes after the Election Commission imposed a 72 hour silent period due rising cases of corona in the state. 43 assembly constituencies spread over four districts will go to polls in this phase on the 22nd of this month. There are 306 candidates including 27 women in the fray. BJP and TMC are contesting all 43 seats. While Congress fielded 12 candidates, CPIM is contesting 23 seats.

Home minister Amit Shah, Defence minister Rajnath Singh, BJP President JP Nadda, Union minister Smriti Irani and party leader Syed Shahnawaz Hussain are among those who will campaign for BJP in the state today. Chief Minister and TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee will also campaign today.

Meanwhile, West Bengal Chief Electoral Officer Aariz Aftab has announced the final polling percentage recorded in the fifth phase of elections. Total 82.49 percent of 1.13 crore voters exercised their franchise in 45 assembly constituencies during the fifth phase polling held on Saturday. Purba Bardhaman witnessed the highest polling percentage of 86.04 percent and the least of 72.57 percent polling was recorded in Kalimpong.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh
learn quran online easily

Todays Epaper

Is lockdown necessary to curb the Covid cases in Telangana State?

Can't Say