Today is the last day of campaigning for the first phase of elections in West Bengal. In the first phase, polling will be held on 30 seats of Five districts of the state. Out of these, seven seats are reserved for Scheduled Tribes and four seats for Scheduled Castes. A total of 191 candidates are in the fray for these seats. All parties including All India Trinamool Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party, Congress, Left Front have left no stone unturned to woo the voters.

Senior BJP leader and Home Minister Amit Shah will address public meetings at four places today. Rajnath Singh will also hold election rallies at three places. Yogi Adityanath, Dilip Ghosh, Gautam Gambhir and Mithun Chakraborty are also scheduled to hold election meetings and road shows at different places. 

On the other hand, Trinamool Congress leader Mamata Banerjee will address public meetings at Four places today. Party leaders Abhishek Banerjee, Deepak Adhikari and Nusrat Jahan will hold road shows at several places today. Leaders of Sanyukt Morcha also planned to hold public meetings in different constituencies. 

In Assam, the campaigning for the first phase of polls will come to an end this evening. 47 seats will go to polls in this phase. 81 lakh voters will decide the political fate of 269 candidates. All the political parties are to make last efforts  to woo the voters. Most of the seats in the first phase are likely to have a straight fight between the NDA and Mahajoth or grand alliance.

However , the regional forces Assam Jatiya Parishad and independent candidates of Raijor Dal would also expect to give fights in some seats. Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, State Congress President Ripun Bora , Asom Gana Parishad chief Atul Bora and Executive President Keshab Mahanta are in the fray in this phase.

On the other hand, the President of Assam Jatiya Parishad Lurinjyoti Gogoi and President of Raijor Dal Akhil Gogoi are also making their polls debut through this phase. 

This phase has witnessed the participation of several high profile leaders in campaigning including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP President J P Nadda, Union ministers Rajnath Singh and Amit Shah. Senior Congress leaders Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra and Chattisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel also campaigned for their candidates.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh
learn quran online easily

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

Which political party will win the Nagarjuna Sagar Assembly by-poll to be held on April 17?