Bhubaneshwar, Feb 17: Counting of votes for the third phase of Odisha Panchayat Elections 2017 will begin from 1 PM onwards. Though the State Election Commission won’t formally announce the Odisha Panchayat Election Results 2017, trends will start coming. The Odisha Panchayat election results 2017 will be officially declared by on February 25. India.com will be updating live on counting of votes for the third phase of the Odisha Panchayat elections 2017. Catch the latest and fast live updates on Odisha Panchayat Election Results 2017 here.
Polling was held on Friday in 175 Zilla Parishad (ZP) zones of 65 blocks in 30 districts. Voting began at 7AM and continued till 12 noon. In the third phase of the Odisha Panchayat elections 2017, voting was held to elect 1394 Panchayat Samiti members and 18,859 Ward Members in 175 Zilla Parishad (ZP) zones. Polling for the first and second phase of the Odisha Panchayat elections 2017 was held on February 13 and 15 respectively. While the second phase registered 73 per cent voter turnout, the first phase poll recorded 71 per cent turnout. (ALSO READ: BJD maintains lead in second phase too, BJP continues to rise, Congress decimated)
Elections are being held in Odisha for 853 zilla parishad members, 6,802 sarpanches, 6,801 panchayat samiti members and 92,052 ward members. Polling for the fifth and last phase of the Odisha Panchayat elections 2017 will take place on February 21. The State Election Commission will formally announce the names of the winning Ward Members and Sarpanches on February 23. Names of winning Zilla Parishad members and Panchayat Samiti members will be declared on February 25.
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has showcased impressive performance in the last two phases of the Odisha Panchayat elections 2017. According to OTV, the BJP has won 119 seats out of the 362 seats went for polls in the second phase. In the 2012 Panchayat polls, BJP had won just 36 seats. Ruling Biju Janata Dal, however, would emerge as the largest party after the two phases of the Panchayat polls. The BJD has won 188 seats till now, said local media. The disastrous performance of the Congress continued in Odisha as well where the grand old party is expected to win just 26 seats. Congress had got 126 seats in 2012 Panchayat polls.
Reacting of the emergence of the BJP in Odisha, the BJD called the surge of the saffron party a disease which needs immediate treatment. “The BJP has won in a few zones. It is like a Dengue fever. It doesn’t kill you and if treated at the right time it can be cured. After we review our performance once the polls are over, BJP will go back to its previous position,” Excise and Cooperation minister, Damodar Rout was quoted as saying.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which political party deserves to win in the UP elections 2022?

Samajwadi Party