Edappadi K Palaniswami took oath as Tamil Nadu Chief Minister today ending the 10-day political drama in Tamil Nadu which witnessed AIADMK General Secretary VK Sasikala and rebel O Panneerselvam involved in a bitter battle over the CM's chair. Palaniswami, a Sasikala loyalist, is the third Tamil Nadu CM in less than three months.
Governor C Vidyasagar Rao has given Palaniswami 15 days to prove his majority in the Assembly.  | WHO IS PALANISWAMI
Governor administered the oath of office and secrecy to 63-year-old Palaniswami, a party veteran from western Tamil Nadu, and his 30-member Cabinet at a ceremony in the Raj Bhavan.  The ministers were sworn-in in batches.
O Panneerselvam to visit Marina Beach at 7.30 pm.
Tamil Nadu Chief Minister E. Palanisamy and V K Sasikala's nephew TTV Dhinakaran pay tribute at Jayalalithaa's memorial at Marina Beach.
Palaniswami has retained the crucial finance portfolio with himself. He also retained the portfolios of public works, highways and minor ports that he had held in the earlier O Panneerselvam ministry.
30 ministers of Palaniswami government take oath. 
Edapaddi Palaniswami takes oath as Tamil Nadu Chief Minister

Four women in Palaniswami's Cabinet: Valarmathi, Dr Nilofer Kafeel, Dr V Saroja and VM Rajalakshmi.
Sasikala's nephew TTV Dhinakaran not in minister's list.
All members of Panneerselvam Cabinet except OPS and Pandiarajan have been retained in Palaniswami Cabinet. Portfolios of some have been changed.
30 plus ministers to be inducted into EPS cabinet: Sources.
DMK leader MK Stalin's advice to CM Palaniswami: "Respect the Constitution and don't adhere to the advice from Bengaluru prison."
Except O Panneerselvam all 134 MLAs are with us. I've learnt swearing in will be around 4-4.30pm: M.Thambidurai
There are no factions, only  O Panneerselvam is apart & his question shouldn't arise because he isn't party member: M. Thambidurai
This is people's victory, we will carry forward Amma's legacy in the coming days: AIADMK Senior Leader M. Thambidurai
We will not let AIADMK go into the hands of few of VK Sasikala's family members: O Panneerselvam.
We will continue with our 'dharm yudh' until Amma's rule is established: Panneerselvam.
Meanwhile, the Election Commission will hear petition regarding challenge of appointment of VK Sasikala as general secretary of the party. Hearing to start at around 3pm. Commission has given time to meet Dr V Maitreyan, a member of the Panneerselvam camp, along with other MPs of his party today at 2.45 pm.
Governor has given 15 days time to Palaniswami to prove majority in the Assembly.
No matter where Chinnamma is, she is still our guiding light: A MLA from Golden Bay Resort in his first reaction after governor's invite.
According to sources the chief minister swearing in may take place today to end the ongoing crisis.
Palaniswami reaches Raj Bhavan.
Palaniswamy leaves for Raj Bhavan. He's accompanied by five of his supporters. Palaniswami will organise a press meet after meeting the governor.
Meanwhile, the MLAs will remain at Golden Bay Resort.
Edappadi Palaniswami, Sengottaiyan, SP Velumani, Thangamani and Dindukal Srinivasan left Golden Bay Resort for Raj Bhavan.
On Wednesday, Panneerselvam gave a representation to the Governor claiming "majority" support and seeking an opportunity to demonstrate it.
The Panneerselvam camp has alleged AIADMK MLAs were held at a resort on Chennai's outskirts against their wish.
While O Panneerselvam has managed to win over 10 odd MPs and some MLAs, Sasikala has been able to rally the support of an overwhelming majority of AIADMK MLAs.
Though Panneerselvam does not have the explicit support of a very large number of MLAs, he has been insisting he would prove majority on the floor of the House if asked to do so.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Invalid Api key or channel id

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which political party deserves to win in the UP elections 2022?

Samajwadi Party