Former Royal Challengers Bangalore captain Virat Kohli on Wednesday expressed his excitement after RCB won a bid to own a team in the Women's Premier League.

The BCCI announced the successful bidders for the Women's Premier League, with the companies earning the ownership rights for a combined bid valuation of INR 4669.99 Cr. Adani Sportsline Pvt. Ltd, Indiawin Sports Pvt. Ltd, JSW GMR Cricket Pvt. Ltd and Capri Global Holdings Pvt. Ltd. completed the five franchises to win the bid.

"Well played, RCB! So thrilled that my team has won the bid for the Bengaluru Women’s Premier League team. Can’t wait to cheer for our women in Red and Gold," Kohli tweeted.

Out of the five franchises, three already have teams in the Indian Premier League (IPL). JSW GMR Cricket Pvt own Delhi Capitals, Royal Challengers Sports

Pvt. Ltd own RCB and Indiawin Sports Pvt. Ltd (a part of Reliance) own Mumbai Indians.

"Breaking barriers, making history, and playing bold! Royal Challengers Bangalore are the proud owners of the Bengaluru Women's Premier League Team," tweeted Royal Challengers Bangalore.

The BCCI Secretary Jay Shah tweeted: "Today is a historic day in cricket as the bidding for teams of inaugural #WPL broke the records of the inaugural Men's IPL in 2008! Congratulations to the winners as we garnered Rs.4669.99 Cr in total bid. This marks the beginning of a revolution in women's cricket and paves the way for a transformative journey ahead not only for our women cricketers but for the entire sports fraternity. The #WPL would bring necessary reforms in women's cricket and would ensure an all-encompassing ecosystem that benefits each and every stakeholder."
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which political party will form the government in Telangana state on December 9?

Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS)
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)