Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, during her Budget speech on Friday, announced that the government will shortly be releasing new rupee coins for public use. 

These coins will be in the denominations of one, two, five, 10 and 20 rupees. 

Earlier this year in March, Prime Minister Narendra Modi had launched the new coin series, saying they will be easily identifiable for the visually impaired. 

The coins will feature the Ashoka Pillar, the words 'Satyameva Jayate', 'Bharat', 'India' on the obverse sides, while the reverse will contain the denominational value in words and numbers, along with the rupee symbol, according to a March 6, 2019 gazette notification. The Rs. 20 coin will have a nickel silver outer ring, with an inner ring made of nickel brass, and will weigh between 8.33 or 8.75 grams. 
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Should Online education system introduced from primary to higher level from the academic year 2020-2021 in Telangana State due to Coronavirus pandemic?

Can't Say