Bhopal: The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) registered its maiden victory in Madhya Pradesh civic body polls on Sunday with four candidates winning the corporator’s post in three cities.

Four AIMIM candidates registered victory in the municipal corporations of Jabalpur, Burhanpur and Khandwa, as per the State Election Commission (SEC) data.

Of the four, two candidates won in Jabalpur and one each in the municipal bodies of Burhanpur and Khandwa cities.

This is for the first time when AIMIM contested civic body polls in Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-ruled Madhya Pradesh.

In Jabalpur, AIMIM’s Shama Parveen defeated the nearest rival and Congress candidate Saima Waseem by a margin of 1,527 votes from ward number 49.

Another AIMIM candidate, Samreen Qureshi, defeated Shabnam Firdaus of Congress by a margin of 209 votes from ward number 51 of the Jabalpur Municipal Corporation.

In Burhanpur, Rafiq Ahmed won a

tight contest against Independent candidate Shahzad Noor by a margin of 156 votes from ward number two, becoming the third candidate of the AIMIM to win civic polls in the state.

AIMIM’s Shakira Bilal won ward number 14 of the Khandwa Municipal Corporation by defeating her nearest Congress rival Noorjahan Begum by 285 votes, an official said.

AIMIM’s mayoral candidate Kaniz Fatima polled 9,601 votes in Khandwa. The mayoral election was eventually won by Amrita Yadav of the BJP by a margin of 19,765 votes. She trounced her nearest challenger Asha Mishra of Congress.

In Burhanpur also, AIMIM’s mayoral nominee Shaista Sohail Hashmi polled 10,274 votes. BJP’s Madhuri Patel scraped through with a thin margin of 542 votes by defeating Congress’ Shahnaz Bano.

The civic election were held in Khargone and Ratlam on 13th July, 2022. The result will be declared on 20th July'2022. 

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which political party will win the assembly elections in Gujarat?

AAP party